PDA

View Full Version : WI State Law on Age?

Combat Airsoft
02 Dec 08, 07:25 PM
Are there any restrictions or laws partaining to airsoft for the State of WI and a players age?

I.E. Need to have Adult supervision from 10-14 can not handle an airsoft weapon under the age of 9 just as examples.

I understand the WAA's age Restrictions as well as Field owners and or Land Owners option to set an age requirement and or aditional course requirements. I am just woundering about State Law

Thanks

Ghostbear
03 Dec 08, 03:24 AM
While I know that this comment will probably cause a few people to be angry...

Sadly, no there is no age limit for airsoft in the state. As WI does not consider airsoft as a bb or pellet gun those laws do not apply. However, I am not a lawyer and do not know every law from every municipality in the state. So, while I know of no overall laws that would limit age, a local or city law could have some association with an 'airgun' law that would apply and could be used as a basis for legal action.

To be honest, as a retailer (of sorts), your best bet is to contact a lawyer in your area and ask them to do some research into airgun laws in your local area. If they do uncover an airgun law that 'could' be used to confiscate or restrict players, chances are you should 'voluntarily' comply with it. Even if the law does not specifically apply to airsoft.

I know that is kinda a non-answer answer, but there are just too many variables from local lawmakers that it would be impossible to assemble the data.

Actually, at one point we (the WAA) tried to get a database setup to allow for members to post their local laws that involve 'airguns' so that we could get a feel for the state's laws. It didnt go so well, as local LE did not want to verify their positions on airsoft and the applicability of those laws to it.